About Melanie

Melanie Watt is the bestselling author and illustrator behind
many beloved picture books for children, including the 
Scaredy Squirrel series, the Chester series, You're Finally Here!
Have I Got a Book for You! and Augustine. Melanie's books 
have received numerous starred reviews from journals such 
as PW and Kirkus and have won many state awards in the US, 
including the Virginia Readers' Choice AwardNorth Carolina's 
Children's Book Award and Maryland's Black-Eyed Susan Award

In Canada, she is a multiple winner of the OLA's Blue Spruce 
Award and the Ruth & Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Award
Her book Bug in a Vacuum was a finalist for the 
Governor General Literary awards. 
She lives near Montreal with her son and husband.

Scaredy Squirrel Gets a Surprise (book 2)

  Available today! Canada US